The Amsterdam Centre for Contemporary European Studies ACCESS EUROPE, is a cooperation of the University of Amsterdam (UvA) and the Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam (VU) as an Amsterdam Academic Alliance initiative. It is a platform for research, education and public debate about Europe, the European Union and its member states. ACCESS EUROPE was developed by prof. Jonathan Zeitlin and prof. Anton Hemerijck.

The UvA faculties of Social and Behavioural Sciences (FMG) Law, Humanities and Economics, and the VU faculties of Social Sciences, Law and Economics participate in ACCESS EUROPE. The FMG acts as the coordinating faculty and hosts ACCESS EUROPE’s office. It has designated ACCESS EUROPE as a so-called Facultair Zwaartepunt (Priority Area), which includes funding until 2018. The Faculty of Social Sciences of the VU has made funding available from 2014 until 2018. The European Commission has awarded ACCESS EUROPE funding as a Jean Monnet Centre of Excellence for three years, starting on 1 September 2014.