Advisory Board

The ACCESS EUROPE external Advisory Board gives requested (and non-requested) strategic advise on key issues. Members of the board are:

Tom de Bruijn (chair), Member of the Executive Board of The Hague. He was member of the Council of State between 2011 and 2014, and Permanent Representative of the Dutch Government to the EU 2003-2011. Before that he was amongst others director-general for European cooperation at the Ministry of Foreign Affairs.

Andrée van Es, Chair of the Dutch Unesco-committee. She was member of the Executive Board of Amsterdam between 2010 and 2014. Before that, she was member of the Dutch House of Representatives for the Pacifist-Socialist Party and Green Left (1982-1990), led the political culture centre De Balie and chaired the GGZ-Netherlands, a health organization, between 2002 and 2007.

Caroline de Gruyter, Foreign correspondent for NRC Handelsblad in Vienna. She started her corresponding career in the Middle-East (first Gaza, then Jerusalem) She spent nearly 10 years in Brussels, and in 2013 received the Anne Vondeling award for her reporting on the EU and the economic crisis.

Jean-Pierre Kempeneers, Ambassador/national coordinator international positions at the Dutch Ministry of Foreign Affairs

Ben Knapen, Member of the Dutch Senate for the CDA. Until July 2015 he represented the European Investment Bank at the EU. he was State Secretary for Foreign Affairs between 2010 and 2012. Before that he was, amongst others, foreign correspondent in Germany and the United Stated and editor-in chief of NRC Handelsblad, and member of the Scientific Council for Government Policy.

Brigid Laffan, Director of the Robert Schuman Centre for Advanced Studies and Director of the Global Governance Programme at the European University Institute in Florence. go to profile

Jörg Monar, Rector of the College of Europe, Bruges. go to profile

Monika Sie Dhian Ho, General Director of the Clingendael institute. Formerly Director of the Wiardi Beckman Foundation, the think tank of the Dutch Labour Party (PvdA), she was assistant professor of Political Science at the Erasmus University Rotterdam, Utrecht University and Leiden University, and researcher at the Scientific Council for Government Policy (1997-2005).